President’s Report – Jan 27, 2024

Annual Meeting, Party, and 2024 Hall of Fame 

On Friday, January 26, 2024, we held our annual meeting and dinner, along with the 2024 Chattanooga Cycling Hall of Fame ceremony.  More than 140 people attended the event at The 107 venue.  

Chris Brown, Jay Young, and, posthumously, Tom Owen Sr, were inducted into the Chattanooga Cycling Hall of Fame (HOF) Class of 2024. Tom Owen, Sr., it should be noted, not only had a huge impact on Chattanooga-area cycling during his lifetime but also founded our bike club back in 1967.  

Established by the Chattanooga Bicycle Club in 2022, the Chattanooga Cycling HOF is the only event that recognizes and celebrates the achievements and contributions of individuals to cycling in the Chattanooga area. You can see Tom’s, Chris’ and Jay’s bios, as well as those of prior year recipients here

Following dinner and the HOF ceremony, the Annual Meeting took place at which we elected the 2024 Executive Board. Many thanks to the 2023 Board members — many of whom are staying on in 2024 — and a hearty welcome to new Board members Donna Killian (Communications Director), James “Jimmy” Rogers (Advocacy Director), Marjorie Whiteside (Social Media Director); and to Jennifer Kreafle (Fiori) for taking on the position of CBC Treasurer. 

All in all, it was another great CBC activity drawing a diverse group of cyclists together to celebrate what we love: riding bicycles. Thanks to our Social Directors (aka Team Beck) for another superbly organized and executed event, and to everyone who helped out, participated and attended, and to the staff at The 107.   

CBC Executive Board – Election Results

PresidentTom HandTom Hand
Vice PresidentSharon RussellSharon Russell
TreasurerMike SabinJennifer Kreafle
SecretaryKevin WhitesideKevin Whiteside
Event CoordinatorVacantScott Self
Road Ride CoordinatorPeggy OlsonPeggy Olson
Communications DirectorSue NewtonDonna Killian
Social Media DirectorJennifer KreafleMarjorie Whiteside
Membership DirectorRebecca BucklesRebecca Buckles
At LargeRich RudnerRich Rudner
At LargeBill JenningsBill Jennings
Social Director (Appointed)Debbie/Sam BeckDebbie/Sam Beck
Advocacy Director (Appointed)Kat VolzerJimmy Rogers
CBC Executive Board Election Results – Jan 26, 2027